WHO Regions

"The Member States of the World Health Organization (WHO) are grouped into six regions (see map below). These regions are organizational groupings and, while they are based on geographical terms, are not synonymous with geographical areas. Note that the WHO regions are not the same as those of the United Nations.

For a complete list of the Member States of each WHO region, please click on the links:

WHO World Regional Offices
  WHO African Region  (46 countries)
  WHO European Region  (53 countries)
  WHO Eastern Mediterranean Region  (21 countries)
  WHO Region of the Americas  (35 countries)
  WHO South-East Asia Region  (11 countries)
  WHO Western Pacific Region  (27 countries)

Each WHO region has a regional office. Regional offices are actively developing and implementing chronic disease prevention and control strategies in association with country offices as part of WHO's global response to the prevention and control of chronic, noncommunicable diseases. The development of these strategies is at different stages in each region. See above the websites of regional offices for more information on strategies."

Source: GreenFacts, based on WHO; Working with the regions 


Nederlands: WGO Regios

Related publications: